As noted in Artscope’s most recent issue “ We’ve been regularly inspired by artists exhibiting at Boston’s Kingston Gallery”

photo

Ann Wessmann’s stunning exhibit is certainly one of those inspired artists with an inspiring exhibit which runs through March 30. She is joined by two other excellent shows – Erica Wessmann: HUNGER and Julie Graham: OUTSKIRTS. Below is a prose poem that accompanies Wessmann’s installation in the gallery:

MEMENTO

Branches budding, waiting for spring…Sarah’s gifts of seed pods, leaves, she has a good eye and is the best gift giver…honey locust seed pods, smooth shiny mahogany collected with Molly years ago on the harbor walk picnic area near JFK Library…fern fronds…Queen Ann’s Lace. Mom’s favorite, she appreciated the lowly weed and collected so many beautiful bouquets got a terrible case of poison ivy, oak or sumac after collecting one day with Mrs. Ellis… Catalpa seed pods found on walk on Quincy Shore Drive, Wollaston Beach in fall, picked them green and dried them to dark brown, love them, went back several times to walk and get more….also got Ailanthus, Tree-of-Heaven, clusters of keys, like the branch separate from the keys, reminds me of grape branches…dead Japanese Barberry hedge branch from the house in Scituate The prickers and the hedge are the bain of my existence as they were for Mom, but they are beautiful when they turn silver from death….Lavender from the front garden in Dorchester, Lavandula Augustifolia- Hidcote and Munstead a bit of beauty in the city….Horse chestnut twigs from the two old trees in Scituate, the one near the driveway on Captain Pierce Road where I tried to make a swing from the wrought iron sign hanger nailed into the tree. I was about 10. It couldn’t withstand my weight and the iron hanger came crashing onto my head with the full weight of my body. The hanger was brought inside and is still hanging in the kitchen with one of Mom’s angels hanging from it…the second chestnut tree on the Tilden Road side, where we and the neighborhood kids used to make a tent and sleep out in the summer…Chris brought me three beautiful very large magnolia leaves a couple of years ago. I have kept them….Tulips I had to order from Holland for the opening reception of my show a year and a half ago, Close Observation. Tulips were out of season, but I wanted them because of the four Tulip Project pieces in the show, but they cost me a fortune…Erica’s hair…Hydrangeas from the house in Dorchester, also I think from a gift from Judith for my opening, she had ridden her bicycle to the show. There were a few tiny hydrangeas from Judith’s arrangement that I put in a vial to continue the Enduring Ephemera #11 piece… vines smuggled home from Bali, that were hanging jungle like on the 150 steps I climbed to the rice field in Ubud where I stayed with Betsy now Kiranada…Beautiful birch bark gathered on hikes with Chris, Rick and Hank in the White Mountains of New Hampshire….Hawthorns cut from trees outside of the Massachusetts Archives on my many Harbor Walks in Dorchester, sometimes with Molly, now that she is gone I walk in solitude… Globemaster Alliums that I planted in the front garden in Dorchester. Sarah loved the long row of alliums in a yard in Chatham. I was so excited to grow them myself….dead branch from the azalea plant in Scituate that David and I bought for Mom one year for Mother’s Day around twenty-five years ago. The Azalea has not been doing so well for about ten years since the huge silver maple tree died. It had provided shade for the big rhododendron bush, which provided shade for the azalea. The rhodie died too and now the azalea is struggling…The White-Faced hornet’s nest in a crab apple branch Hank and I actually bought in an antique store in Cambridge, New York, when we lived in Saratoga Springs, pre- 1975. Loved that thing, and displayed it for many years. A few years ago I brought it to Scituate and put it in the barn, where it still looked beautiful and where I thought I would have a studio eventually. Raccoons have also loved the barn and in their running around and general craziness, the nest has come on hard times, but I still like it…the big pinecone branch that I got in San Francisco with Joan in about 2001 or 2.  We had such a great time driving around and finding beautiful leaves, pods, etc. to pick.  I gathered about a gallon of eucalyptus nuts.  The scent was so strong that I couldn’t sleep in the same room with them.  When Joan and I were getting ready to leave SF we opened the trunk of our rental car and it was full of the pine cone branches.  We had to choose one for each of us and then struggled to get rid of the rest, clean the car and get to our flight on time…small pinecone from Ireland and white puffy flower Joan and I saw on our drives through the Irish countryside, looked just like sheep fleece, had to smuggle home… Mom’s hair…

Leave a Reply

