‘heated’ brings the August heat

by, Jane Lincoln

The Kingston Gallery opening reception for heated was crowded and hot – most appropriate for the theme.

As a colorist, I focused on how to project the emotion of a hot summer day. In the painting August Heat, I explored how the intensity of a color accelerated the warmth and how the interaction between colors altered their strength.

August Heat

August Heat, acrylic on paper/hardboard, 24″ x 24″, 2017 (photo by Will Howcroft)

It was rewarding that so many viewers closely examined the structure of my paintings and questioned me about the material and my process. The works are hand painted collaged paper on ampersand hardboard. I paint BFK Rives paper with acrylic – the adjustment of each color being my primary focus. I paint the strips of paper in greater dimensions than I will use in the final painting so I can physically adjust the bands of color until they visually feel right. Some edges are cut so as to cast a shadow, others are painted.

August Heat tape

Painted BFK Rives papers

In August Heat, the thin blue strip near the bottom was my last decision – and I am pleased even blue reads warm. The painting stands out from the wall an inch so as to cast a colored shadow behind the work – the magenta from the surface moves around the edges and to the back. This warm glow is consistent with the title.

heated is on view through August 27, with a Closing Reception from 12 – 3pm. Included in this exhibition are Kingston artists Jamie Bowman, Tatiana Flis, Jane Lincoln, Nat Martin, Laurel McMechan, Rachel Mello, On-Kyeong Seong, Rachel Sevanich, Rachel Thern, and Anne Sargent Walker.

Leave a Reply

